How things change in the matter of just a year

Every New Year I always wonder about the difference a year makes. Sometimes things haven’t changed much, and other times things have changed quite a bit. I think it’s safe to say the my life is virtually unrecognizable to the life I was leading a year ago. At the very least, I definitely would not have guessed the ways my life has changed this year.

Some people get pregnant and have a baby, some people meet someone and get married, and some people move hundreds of miles all within the course of a year. It’s funny, but any of those things would have made a lot more sense to me than the changes that took place in my life this last year.

A year ago I impulsively applied to the Cronkite School at ASU. I was planning to move there this past summer. A year ago I had it all planned out. When I was rejected from ASU, I figured God had a reason and I decided to forget it and move forward.

Halfway through the year, I shifted my plans and applied to UT Austin. I was planning to move there if I was accepted or not. I had a plan. I was getting out of this place. Once again, God had other plans for my life.

Little did I know His plans were far larger than anything I could have possibly imagined.

Only after life had started to drastically change did I find out that I was rejected from UT (due to a terrible miscalculation from the admissions staff). Still, I told my mom that this wasn’t going to stop me. Maybe I should have listened to what God was trying to tell me.

It was three months ago that I collapsed after what would be the final 2012 game I would attend at Petco Park. I swore I was drugged (I still feel REALLY bad about mentally accusing someone of that). Three months ago that my optic neuritis started to rear its ugly head.

Apparently, life only needs a few moments to drastically change.

In the span of those three months I have lost my eyesight, gained it back, made (technically) three ER trips, earned myself a “team” of doctors, had a spinal tap, and gained the permanent label of being diagnosed with multiple sclerosis. Actually, it was in just over two months that all of this happened. Sort of mind-blowing, isn’t it?

I’m actually quite content with my diagnosis and my current situation (however, my new favorite hashtag to use on Twitter is #MSsucks). It’s like I’ve said, it could be so much worse. I’m seriously grateful that in those three months I have found out just how many people are willing to stand behind me and help me through all of this. I’ve actually spent a considerable amount of time wondering what kind of person would even bother to deal with me now that I technically have a brain disorder. I knew my parents wouldn’t really get much of a choice, but I wasn’t sure who else would. I shouldn’t have even wondered. I have some amazing people in my life.

Since the official diagnosis I have started the Rebif treatment. This last Friday I finished the first two weeks of the treatment- 8.8 mcg per shot, three times per week. It wasn’t too bad. The first shot was entertaining. I nearly passed out from holding my breath. I then learned my lesson to not hold my breath the entire time. Perhaps this is why I fainted during the spinal tap? Hmm..

Today I started the second dose- 22 mcg per shot, again three times per week. So far I feel mostly fine, and I realize I am lucky for that. I just hope it can keep up this way. If it’s this easy, then MS really has no idea who it is up against. But here’s a hint for it: MS has messed with the wrong girl. It will not be the reason for the life changes taking place in 2013.

Leave a Reply

