This is how it began: Part 1

I’m a writer. It’s in my nature. I wish this post were a better depiction of my writing prowess. Any of you who know me know that I am much better than this. But I digress, I quite literally have a novel being written in my head depicting my life. It’s not a great work of literature; it’s more like a Disney fairy tale. So, when it seemed as if my life was about to drastically change, my first instinct was to write it all down- that and I’ve told the story 100,000 times by now, so I may as well just print out copies and give it to all the doctors I see.

I guess my life isn’t really a Disney fairy tale. Disney princesses don’t drink. Except Cinderella; you know you’ve seen the ecard:

It’s important that I start there. It’s going to dash the image of me right away, I know, but had I not been drinking that night, I don’t think I would have be as attentive to what was happening. I thought I had been drugged. That alternative seems so much more appealing now.

When I woke up on Saturday (September 29), I assumed the aura in my eye was a migraine, or a hangover. It didn’t bug me so much that day. And then on Sunday I woke up with the same thing, but I assumed it was the long lasting effects of the alcohol or something. Like I said, I don’t drink to excess often. When I woke up still feeling terrible on Monday, I even told my mom that after three days you think I would feel better. After looking up roofies (I am not even kidding, I honestly thought I was drugged) I saw that it would be gone in 72 hours, so by Tuesday I should feel better. My eyesight kept getting worse. I mentioned it to my mom on Wednesday, but we thought that it would go away. I actually noticed it progressively getting worse throughout the day and decided I needed to do something. Urgent care at my doctor’s office wouldn’t see me because they thought I needed a CAT Scan- cue the tears! Honestly, I thought maybe I fell and hit my head the night I was drinking and desperately tried to find out.

Three hours (and $4,000!) later, they had done a CT Scan and a glaucoma test. The PA told me it was a migraine and sent me off with Zofran and pain meds. Because, you know, I never get migraines so I have no idea what they’re like (sarcasm, I get them often and they ALWAYS come with headaches). But, I was going out of town and all I was hoping for was my eyesight back- and fast!

Fast-forward to the following Monday (October 7). It had now been 9 days and my eyesight was getting no better. I was desperate for anything. I tried one of the painkillers when I was out of town that weekend hoping that would work- no. I tried eating healthy- no. I tried ignoring it- no. I tried an eyepatch-no (and it wasn’t even cute!). Realistically, I was getting kind of scared; I had no idea what was going on, and if you know me, you know that I need to be in control of my life and I really wasn’t. I made an appointment with my doctor again. I had to have more insight.

I was about to lose more control.

I went into the doctor’s office (A PA whom I had never before seen), I told him the issue and he promptly sent me away. He said I needed to see the optometrist, “like right now.” Luckily, they were just upstairs. I get up there and they ask if it’s an emergency. I told them the problem and that I wasn’t sure. Apparently it was an emergency. I sat there for a little over an hour not knowing what was happening. Over an hour of testing later (scans and dilation and fun stuff) and we still had almost nothing. He said he felt like it was Optic Neuritis, but couldn’t find a source. In retrospect, I’m fairly sure that he knew what was wrong because he told me I needed an MRI first thing in the morning.

And now, I am going to cut this short. I’m exhausted and I have more appointments in the morning. Maybe I’ll find inspiration to be funny and not drone on and on in the next post. Sorry to leave you hanging! I swear, I’ll get to it.

One thought on “This is how it began: Part 1

Leave a Reply

